Published on

Making Space to be Alone

Reading Time
1 min read
Authors
  • avatar
    Name
    Weibo Zhang
    Twitter

With all the busyness in our daily lives, the noisy chatters of social media, and the addicting natures of our smart phones, we are slowly losing the ability to be in silence. At least for me.

I don't think I have truly felt boredom in a while now. Boredom has become rare while entertainment has become a common occurence. I worried for this because I believe that boredom is when creativity and growth sparks. And reflection and acceptance happens when we sit alone with our thoughts. I worry that we are moving to a world where we run more and more away from our own internal self.

I want to make space to be fully alone. Space to do whatever I want, without any plan. To be alone, to make space to breathe and think. Only then, do I better understand myself. Letting go of frustrations and embracing the once lost joy of going to a mall or walking in nature.

Subscribe to the newsletter