Published on

How much I spent on my Japan Trip in August 2023

Reading Time
3 min read
Authors
  • avatar
    Name
    Weibo Zhang
    Twitter
Shibuya district from above

We traveled first to Tokyo, then Kyoto, Hiroshima, Osaka, and back to Tokyo within the 16 days. Because of the amount of traveling we knew we would have to do, it was worthwhile to purchase the JR pass (before their price increase in October 2023). We lived mostly in tourist destinations and traveled a good amount of metro and shinkansen rides.

Here is the following cost breakdown:

Pre-travel ExpensesCost
Zipair roundtrip$954
JR Pass (Bought on Klook)$331
TeamLab Planet Ticket$27
Faye Travel Insurance$80
Airalo 10 GB ESIM$15
Total$1407
StaysCost
4 night stay in Tokyo hostels$100 ( $25 / night)
3 night stay in Kyoto hostels$63 ( $21 / night)
3 night stay in Hiroshima hostels$51 ( $17 / night)
3 night stay in Osaka private room$78 ( $26 / night)
2 night stay in Tokyo private room$75 ( $37 / night)
Total$367
Food & OthersCost
Food & convenience store$554 ( $34 / night)
Shopping & Clothes & Entertainments$613
Total$1167

In total, I spent $2941 for the 16 days that I traveled. Woah. I spent a lot of money.

Summary

Japanese hostels and hotels were fabulous and clean. If I would go again solo or with buddies, I would definitely keep living in hostels and/or private rooms on AirBnb. They are a great cheap way to travel.

Given that, the pre-travel expenses were a major contributor to the cost. Had I book my ticket during a non-touristy time, it would shaved a good chunk away. Had I stayed only in Tokyo, we could of saved money on the JR pass.

What I didn't do too well was managing my spendings while in Japan. Budgeting will be my priority from now on and I want to minimize my spending as much as I can next time to save up for a month long travel. Until then, that is how much I spent for my 16 days in Japan.

Subscribe to the newsletter